Antietam, MD, National Battlefield

After camping overnight nearby, I visited this site in afternoon which was eerily silent in the winter. From the civil war, it was the first Union “victory”.  Mainly from what I read, bc Gen Robert E. Lee technically retreated.  It’s strange since it’s basically rolling hills in farmland and wood fences.


Even saw what I think is C-130 taking off from nearby.



From here it was slow treading from on the I-68 W.  The “National Highway”.  I think I read it was the first federal highway.  Right through the Allegheny Mountains.  Man vs nature.

Leave a Reply

