I guess even the South has winter.  Nashville is a brisk 41 F

I think I saw some flakes on one morning.  Wrapping normally, from upper left.

  1. There is also an arcade of shops nearby downtown, near the riverfront.
  2. City Hall peeking out in background.
  3. On the riverfront, you can see Nissan stadium for the Tennessee Titans.
  4. Greeting you inside the entrance of the Musicians Hall of Fame
  5. I wish I can say I was a country music fan.  The Musicians Hall of Fame is $24.  The Country Music Hall of Fame is here too.  I kind of skipped it.

Andrew Jackson had a home here, named Hermitage (Air-mudge).  It’s been restored but I really wasn’t interested.  The tour is coincidentally priced at $20.  I’m sure you’ll figure out what the coincidence is.

There is a Greek revival of sorts here.  With a remake of the Parthenon and a statue of Athena. Also skipped.

BiCentennial capital mall Park looks like a great place for a concert in warmer months.  And it’s right next to the Farmers market.

Next was to see the Grand Ole Opry.  To my surprise there’s a big mall right next to it.  Opry Mills mall was pretty busy on a sat, but still able to find a table in the food court.  There’s a Mission BBQ there with an patriotic greeting where new customers are greeted w the American flag on a tv, the star spangled banner plays, and everyone inside stands at attention.  But it has a large movie complex w/ some IMAX projectors, and a Dave and Busters.

Butchertown Hall is a restaurant/bar, in a part of Nashville called Germantown.  It was pretty good for sunday brunch.  A ridiculously …err helpful brunette bartendress was working.  $12 Cheeseburger and roast potatoes (baked in oil and salted, better than fries).

I forgot Peyton manning played in college for Tennessee.  I wonder if the condos are named after him.  Germantown reminds me of Williamsburg in brooklyn.  Some old homes, but about half dozen new condo developments with new businesses cropping up and a seemingly young crowd.

Meat and three is a way of ordering food portions here.  A meat dish and 3 non meat sides for $6.  Here’s meat and 1.  And some pretty good gumbo (needed a little more salt really, but ok).

Eventually I saw the Parthenon.  I went to see Centenial Park, and it’s a very visible part of the scenary there.  Apparently, it was built as part of the Bicentential Celebration and Nashvillers liked it so much, they kept it.  They should see the real thing in Athens, even in ruins, perched on top of a hill.  The real thing stands out.  Still too cold to be walking around in the brisk air.  I enjoyed Nashville color with a hot chocolate from a Crema Coffee shop, with the condensation on the window from the production on the busy Sunday.  And I drove past, what appears to be a sculpture of a bad hair day.

Vanderbilt is in Nashville.  I did not know that. Huge campus, and sports complex.  It was started with a gift from a New Yorker, Vanderbilt of railroad fame.

img_1962

Nashville had a 3 day warm streak, but I spent it inside, trying to fix more code I broke.  Camping inside the Green Hills mall for their coffe and Wifi.  Hanging out in Starbucks in Nashville, which has fireplace here.  Even got to see a protest, presumably of Vanderbilt students.  Wish I had my SLR.

Actually I learned to listen to some country music too.  It’s a little like listening to easy listening music at my parents.

There’s an old restored plantation named Belle Meade on the south side of Nashville.  Reminds me of a country club.

Finally had some decent BBQ at Opry Backstage Grill.  Wasn’t as tender as other places I’ve had BBQ, but very very smoky.  You can see the red smoke ring.  And the sauce is on the side for the pulled pork shoulder.  Brisket reminded me of tasty smoky pastrami.

The General Lee from the Dukes of Hazard.  Looking not too shabby, nearby the Grand Ole Opry.


Almost at the end of my time here in Nashville.  Loveless Cafe served delicious southern cooking.  Cornmealed fried catfish was perfectly cooked.  Fried chicken and pulled pork butt were good too.  Surprisingly, I’ve become a fan of fried green tomatoes, which I find delicious on a bed of grits or gravy topped with a subtle protein.  Hash casserole (hash browns loaded with white gravy and cheese) is ok, but the sweet waitress claimed it was a popular seller there.


It’s also the start of the Natchez Trace parkway, which heads southwest into Alabama, then Mississippi.  It’s supposed cememorate an old wagon trail which it’s supposed to follow.  Below is a nearby double arch concrete bridge over Birdsong Hollow (Valley) that received a Presidential Award for design excellence.

Before I left, I saw a bumper sticker that sold out here.  Something about republicans and welfare.  Here a riddle for you.  If the government takes 20%, of everything you make in USA, and a quarter (I think it’s a third) of that is goes to Social Security and welfare, does that mean that 1 in 5 people in USA is supported by the other 4?  And only 1 in 20 (which includes retireees who have survived to 60) is to supported by social programs?  What is the percentage of retirees in USA, to the population?  Just wondering.welfare

 

Leave a Reply

